Saskatoon, December 17, 2019: On December 4, in a live broadcast streaming from both Saskatoon and Regina, the Saskatchewan REALTORS® Association (SRA) announced the results of its first Board of Directors’ election. On January 1, 2020, the Association of Saskatchewan REALTORS® (ASR), Saskatoon Region Association of REALTORS® (SRAR) and Association of Regina REALTORS® (ARR) will amalgamate to form the SRA – a single provincial REALTORS® Association. The Board of Directors of this new association will be comprised of 12 association members – four from each of the designated regions of Saskatoon, Regina and Saskatchewan – those members whose brokerages reside outside of Saskatoon and Regina. Five members of the initial board were appointed for one year terms by the SRA Transition Committee, a group established at the launch of amalgamation discussions in 2018 who have led the process from research to member vote and in the past nine months, the development of the SRA. Appointees from the transition committee include:

  • Lynn Chipley, Estevan (Saskatchewan Region)
  • Richelle Rogers, Melfort (Saskatchewan Region)
  • Sheri Willick, Saskatoon (Saskatoon Region)
  • Dave Markus, Regina (Regina Region)
  • Tim Otitoju, Regina (Regina Region)

Elections were held by region via mail between October 16 to November 28 and results were announced at the member launch of the SRA on December 4. The successful candidates include:

  • Avril Reifferscheid, Watrous (Saskatchewan Region)- 2-year term
  • Warren Vandenameele, Langenburg (Saskatchewan Region) – 2-year term
  • Jordan Barry, Saskatoon (Saskatoon Region) – 2-year term
  • Norm Fisher, Saskatoon (Saskatoon Region) – 1-year term
  • Jeff Stewart, Saskatoon (Saskatoon Region) – 2-year term
  • Lane Boghean, Regina (Regina Region) – 2-year term
  • Sara McKinley, Regina (Regina Region) – 2-year term

The SRA Board of Directors will take effect on January 1, 2020 and will be installed at the SRA Annual General Meeting in March 2020.

“It’s an exciting time in Saskatchewan real estate, and I’m thrilled to have such an enthusiastic team of directors to work with,” said Jason Yochim, CEO of the SRA. “It’s a big undertaking for any association board, but with a new organization, we’re undergoing major changes in everything from governance policy to organizational structure and everything in between. But it’s also a great opportunity to enhance member services and make a difference in Saskatchewan real estate. I’m confident we have the right directors in place to achieve our goals.”